2009 Results

"Titus Award"

First Place Male

Bib #922

Horsecow Lonac

3.75 miles

Time of 24:39

“Kahara Award ”

First Place Female

Bib #482

Ann Flynn

3.75 miles

 Time of 29:14

“Safari Award ”

Furthest Traveled

Tami Moses

Chuglak, Alaska

2376 miles away

“Susa Award ”

Largest Group

Team Service Source

30 Gorillas

"Kwintoda Award"

Most Creative Individual

Cowboy riding gorllas back on stilts


“Kirungi Award"

Senior Gorilla

Roxlyn Cole

71 years young

First Gorilla to cross the finish line on his bike.

Bib #418

Alex Becht

Age 8

Time: 22:08

What made us this big:

"Dian Fossey Award"

Last year 742

People who made milestones with registration:

248th Erik Hansen (# of gorillas when Dian Fossey was murdered)

638th Nhien Nguyen (past the current world record)

740th Phoenix Ventura (est. number of gorillas alive today)

1000th Janay Lake (putting us over the thousand mark)

“Bahati Award "

Highest Fundraising

Pat Japenga


First Gorilla on Wheels

Bib # 418

Jon Forbes

Racing in his wheelchair